联邦政策

2021 年美国公民法 (HR 1177)

由代表琳达·桑切斯 (D-CA) 于 2021 年 XNUMX 月介绍, 该法案为某些无证个人确立了获得公民身份的途径,在许多其他项目中。 请参阅此处了解更多信息,包括摘要、正在处理的地方,以及该法案的相同参议院版本(S.348).

拜登政府

在拜登总统就职典礼的筹备过程中,专家们猜测新政府将要制定的政策变化以及变化速度有多快。 2月XNUMX日,就职不到两周,拜登总统签署了三项影响移民政策的行政命令。 行政命令规定以下内容:

  1. 建立一个使家庭团聚的工作队。 该工作组将找到特朗普政府领导下与家人失散的数千名儿童的父母或监护人。 它还将从签署该行政命令后的120天开始定期报告进展情况。
  2. 庇护系统的恢复。 在特朗普政府执政期间,寻求和获得庇护的过程变得如此艰巨,以至于许多难民在寻求庇护时被迫在墨西哥等待。 这导致了许多人所说的美墨边境的人道主义危机。 拜登的命令旨在恢复更加人道的庇护程序。
  3. 审查公共收费规则。 已指示移民机构从新政府的角度来看待这一规则,新政府力图建立一个更具包容性的制度。 9年2021月7日,当司法部决定停止为该规则辩护时,公共指控规则被废除了,美国最高法院驳回了所有与该规则有关的未决上诉,第七巡回法院驳回了政府的上诉。 对于移民和拥护者来说,这是一个巨大的胜利,现在,对于移民来说,获得公共利益是安全的,而不必担心进行公共收费测试。

这些行政命令是拜登总统上任第一天签署的,当时他撤销了许多前总统特朗普的政策,包括:

  • 特朗普政府撤销多数穆斯林国家和其他国家的旅行限制。 但是,目前仍保留针对此类旅行者的安全检查程序。
  • 对于大多数移民,从100月22日开始暂停驱逐出境1天(从2020月19日开始),但那些从事恐怖主义,犯罪,对国家安全构成威胁或在XNUMX年XNUMX月XNUMX日之后抵达美国的移民除外。 ,这项暂停驱逐出境将防止不必要的流动,并使移民机构可以将资源集中用于在拘留中心团聚家庭和与COVID-XNUMX战斗。
  • 停止边界墙建设,并取消前任总统挪用的10亿美元资金,用于边界墙建设。 拜登有望放弃边界墙,以便将边界安全工作和资金集中在其他地方,例如为移民机构内的健康和安全计划提供资金。
  • 强化儿童到达推迟行动(DACA)计划,该计划的成员目前保护约650,000万名“梦想家”。 拜登的拟议改革法案中可能包括对该计划的额外支持或扩展。
  • 结束“留在墨西哥”边境计划,该计划要求在美国寻求庇护的移民必须在等待听证会和决定之前在墨西哥居住。 展望未来,该计划将不会安置新的寻求庇护者。 但是,当前放置在程序中的那些不会移出它。
  • 停止使用非人性化和贬义的术语“非法外国人”并用“非公民”取而代之,许多人认为此举是为了在移民政策中注入尊严和体面。

16 年 2021 月 2018 日,司法部长梅里克·加兰 (Merrick Garland) 跟随拜登的行政令恢复庇护系统,并下令撤销前司法部长杰夫·塞申斯 (Jeff Sessions) 在 XNUMX 年做出的两项决定。 这意味着,在新法规颁布之前,移民法官也可以根据家庭虐待或帮派暴力的威胁向个人提供庇护。

总之,这些行动代表了移民政策方法以及移民健康与安全方面的明显转变。 这种转变可能会大大减轻移民社区的压力和对被驱逐出境的恐惧(一种健康的社会决定因素,一直以来都被证明会对健康产生负面影响并导致持续的健康问题)。


点评日期:6年22月2021日

Federal Policy

The US Citizenship Act 2021 (H.R. 1177)

Introduced by Representative Linda Sanchez (D-CA) in February 2021, this bill establishes a path to citizenship for certain undocumented individuals, among a number of other items. Please see here for more information including summary, where it is in process, as well as an identical Senate version of the bill (S.348).

Biden Administration

In the leadup to President Biden’s inauguration, experts speculated on the policy changes the new administration would enact — and how quickly. On February 2, less than two weeks after taking office, President Biden signed three executive orders impacting immigration policy. The executive orders mandated the following:

  1. Creation of a task force for reunifying families. This task force will locate parents or guardians of the thousands of children who were separated from their families under the Trump administration. It will also regularly report on its progress beginning 120 days after the signing of this executive order.
  2. Restoration of the asylum system. Under the Trump administration, the process for seeking and gaining asylum became so arduous that many refugees were forced to wait in Mexico while they sought asylum. This resulted in what many have called a humanitarian crisis at the U.S.-Mexico border. Biden’s order seeks to restore a more humane asylum process.
  3. Review of the public charge rule. Immigration agencies have been instructed to look at this rule from the perspective of the new administration, which seeks to create a more inclusive system. On March 9, 2021, the public charge rule was struck down when the Department of Justice decided to stop defending the rule, the U.S. Supreme Court dismissed all pending appeals related to the rule, and the 7th Circuit dismissed the government’s appeal. This is huge win for immigrants and advocates, and it is now safe for immigrants to receive public benefits without fear of a public charge test.

These executive orders follow those signed on President Biden’s first day in office, when he reversed many of former President Trump’s policies, including:

  • Revoking travel restrictions from majority Muslim countries and other nations  by the Trump administration. However, the security screening procedures for such travelers remain in place for the moment.
  • Pausing deportations for 100 days for most immigrants (starting on January 22), except for those that engage in terrorism, commit crimes, pose a threat to national security, or arrived in the U.S. after November 1, 2020. In the midst of a pandemic, this moratorium on deportations will prevent unnecessary movement and allow immigration agencies to focus resources on reuniting families and fighting COVID-19 in detention centers.
  • Stopping border wall construction and rescinding $10 billion in funding that the previous president diverted for wall construction. Biden is expected to abandon the border wall in order to focus border security efforts and funding elsewhere, such as on funding health and safety initiatives within immigration agencies.
  • Fortifying the Deferred Actions for Childhood Arrivals (DACA) Program, which currently protects about 650,000 “Dreamers,” as members of the program are known. Additional support for or expansion of the program may be included in Biden’s proposed reform bill.
  • Ending the “Remain in Mexico” border program that required immigrants seeking asylum in the U.S. to reside in Mexico while waiting for hearings and decisions. Moving forward, no new asylum seekers will be placed in the program. However, those currently placed in the program will not be moved out of it.
  • Halting use of the dehumanizing and pejorative term “illegal alien” and replacing it with “noncitizen,” a move perceived by many as an attempt to inject dignity and decency into immigration policy.

On June 16, 2021, Attorney General Merrick Garland followed Biden’s EO on the restoration of the asylum system with an order reversing two decisions made by former Attorney General Jeff Sessions in 2018. This means that, until new regulations are enacted, immigration judges can grant asylum too individuals based on threats of domestic abuse or violence from gangs.

Taken together, these actions represent a marked shift in the approach to immigration policy, as well as to the health and safety of migrants. This shift may significantly reduce stress and fear of deportation in immigrant communities (a social determinant of health that has consistently been shown to negatively impact health and contribute to ongoing health problems).


Reviewed on 6/22/2021