公共收费

背景

9 年 2021 月 7 日,美国司法部通知美国最高法院,它已同意撤回其为特朗普政府引入的公共负担规则辩护的上诉。 当最高法院驳回此案时,下级法院阻止适用该规则的禁令又重新生效。 司法部还撤回了在第七巡回上诉法院的上诉,这意味着伊利诺伊州北区关于 2019 年 2019 月公共负担规则无效的裁决成为最终有效。 为了执行该法院命令,美国公民及移民服务局 (USCIS) 正式撤销了 XNUMX 年 XNUMX 月的公共负担规则。

代替规则,USCIS 恢复了 1999 年的现场指导,用于确定申请人是否因公共负担而被拒绝。 本指南将公共负担定义为现在、已经成为或可能成为“主要依赖政府维持生计的人,如 (i) 收到用于维持收入的公共现金援助或 (ii)政府费用长期护理机构化。”这意味着移民和难民现在可以申请并获得他们有资格获得的任何其他公共福利,而不会在申请进入美国或调整移民时受到不利影响地位。

对于患者而言,这意味着您可以获得 Medicaid 福利(在华盛顿称为“Apple Health”保险)以及紧急护理和 COVID-19 治疗,而不会影响您的移民身份。 但是,根据 1999 年现场指南,那些接受长期、机构化护理(例如临终关怀或护理机构的护理)的人可能被视为公共负担。 如果这适用于您或您认识的任何人,或者您对自己的具体情况有疑问,您可能需要联系移民律师,讨论该护理对合法永久居民身份的影响。 如果这适用于您或您认识的任何人,您可能需要联系移民律师,讨论这种照顾对合法永久居民身份的影响。 我们的 法律和移民资源页面 包括可帮助您在需要时找到律师的链接。

➔ 在我们的常见问题解答中了解有关 1999 年现场指导的更多信息

 

资源和培训

虽然特朗普政府的公共负担规则被撤销并且 不再有效,它产生了“寒蝉效应”,并且继续存在与使用公益计划相关的困惑和担忧。 有关此主题的多语言教育工具,请参见下文 保护移民家庭 (PIF):

 

公共负担最近发生了什么?

2022 年 25 月 – 新提议的公共负担规则; 评论期于 2022 年 XNUMX 月 XNUMX 日结束

24 月 XNUMX 日星期四,美国国土安全部发布了他们的 新提议的公共负担规则. 该规则根据非公民是否可能成为“公共负担”或主要依赖于政府来确定非公民是否可以进入美国。

我们仍在审查新规则,但它肯定了特朗普政府期间制定的 2019 年规则不再有效。

该规则有 60 天的评论期,所有 评论必须在 25 年 2022 月 XNUMX 日之前提交.

 

2022 年 2019 月——强调 XNUMX 年公共负担规则不再有效。

2021 年 2019 月,美国公民及移民服务局 (USCIS) 发表了一封信函,强调 XNUMX 年的公共负担规则不再有效。 它还列出了不能在公共负担确定中使用的非现金福利的示例,包括医疗补助和食品券。 在 USCIS 网站上阅读完整的信件。

 

2021 年 XNUMX 月 – 新的公共负担规则制定正在进行中

在前任政府期间,严格的公共负担规定和反移民政策对我们在华盛顿州的移民社区的健康和福祉产生了负面影响。 尽管许多有害政策已被撤销,但它们继续制造恐惧并阻止人们获得关键利益。 现在我们有机会参与制定新法规的过程。 通过合作,我们可以帮助确保未来的法规保护华盛顿和美国各地的移民获得医疗保健和公共计划的机会。

23 年 2021 月 XNUMX 日,国土安全部 (DHS) 发布了 拟议规则制定的提前通知 (ANPRM),邀请公众就 DHS 正在考虑的问题和主题发表意见,以制定新的公共负担法规。 在拜登政府的领导下,国土安全部希望确保新法规不会给移民带来不应有的负担。 在 ANPRM 中,国土安全部表示打算起草一项规则,该规则不会“在移民社区中引起过度恐惧或对移民及其家人获得可用的公共服务造成其他障碍,特别是考虑到 COVID-19 大流行及其导致的对美国的长期公共卫生和经济影响。”

华盛顿社区卫生网络、华盛顿社区卫生计划、华盛顿社区卫生协会和华盛顿 26 家社区卫生中心提交了一份 评论信 于 21 年 2021 月 XNUMX 日响应 ANPRM。

ANPRM 只是这个过程的第一步。 DHS 将审查收到的回复,然后发布拟议规则制定通知。 当这种情况发生时,将有机会对提议的规则发表评论。

请继续关注最近的公共负担规则制定过程中的后续步骤。 我们将在此处分享可用的信息。 有关公共负担的其他问题或信息,请随时联系 CHNW 的 Jessica Hauffe, [电子邮件保护].

点评日期:02年28月2022日

Public Charge

Background

On March 9, 2021, the Department of Justice notified the U.S. Supreme Court that it had agreed to withdraw its appeal defending the public charge rule introduced by the Trump administration. When the Supreme Court dismissed the case, the lower courts’ injunctions preventing the rule from being applied went back into effect. The Department of Justice also withdrew its appeal in the 7th Circuit Court of Appeals, which meant that the Northern District of Illinois’ ruling that the October 2019 public charge rule was invalid became final and effective. To implement that court order, the US Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS) officially withdrew the October 2019 public charge rule.

In place of the rule, USCIS has reinstated the 1999 Field Guidance for determining whether an applicant is inadmissible on public charge grounds. This guidance defines a public charge as a person who is, has become, or is likely to become ‘‘primarily dependent on the government for subsistence, as demonstrated by either (i) the receipt of public cash assistance for income maintenance or (ii) institutionalization for long-term care at government expense.’’ This means that immigrants and refugees can now apply for and receive any other public benefit for which they are eligible without it being held against them when applying for admission to the U.S. or adjustment of immigration status.

For patients, this means that you can receive Medicaid benefits (known as “Apple Health” coverage in Washington), as well as emergency care and COVID-19 treatment, without affecting your immigration status. However, those receiving long-term, institutionalized care, such as that of a hospice or nursing facility, may be considered a public charge under the 1999 Field Guidance. If this applies to you or anyone you know, or you have questions about your specific situation, you may want to contact an immigration attorney to discuss the implications of that care on Lawful Permanent Resident status. If this applies to you or anyone you know, you may want to contact an immigration attorney to discuss the implications of that care on Lawful Permanent Resident status. Our Legal and Immigration Resources page includes links to help you find an attorney if needed.

➔ Learn more about the 1999 Field Guidance in our FAQ

 

Resources and Trainings

While the Trump administration’s public charge rule was withdrawn and is no longer in effect, it created a “chilling effect,” and there continues to be confusion and concern related to the use of public benefit programs. See below for multilingual educational tools on this topic available from Protecting Immigrant Families (PIF):

 

What is the latest happening around Public Charge?

February 2022 – New proposed public charge rule; comment period closes April 25, 2022

On Thursday, February 24, the US Department of Homeland Security issued their new proposed public charge rule. This rule determines the admissibility of a noncitizen into the US based on whether they are likely to become a “public charge,” or primarily dependent on the government.

We are still reviewing the new rule, but it affirms that the 2019 rule enacted during the Trump administration is no longer in effect.

The rule is subject to a 60-day comment period, and all comments must be submitted no later than April 25, 2022.

 

January 2022 – Emphasizing that the 2019 public charge rule is no longer in effect.

In November 2021, U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS) published a letter emphasizing that the 2019 public charge rule is no longer in effect. It also lists examples of noncash benefits that cannot be used in a public charge determination, including Medicaid and food stamps. Read the full letter on the USCIS website.

 

October 2021 – New Public Charge rulemaking underway

Under the previous administration, strict public charge regulations and anti-immigration policies negatively impacted the health and wellness of our immigrant communities in Washington state. Even though many of the harmful policies have been reversed, they continue to create fear and discourage people from accessing critical benefits. Now we have an opportunity to participate in the process to create new regulations. By working together, we can help ensure future regulations protect access to healthcare and public programs for immigrants in Washington and across the United States.

On August 23, 2021, the Department of Homeland Security (DHS) issued an Advanced Notice of Proposed Rulemaking (ANPRM), inviting public comment on questions and topics DHS is thinking about for new public charge regulations it is drafting. Under the Biden administration, DHS wants to ensure that new regulations do not place undue burdens on immigrants. In the ANPRM, DHS stated its intent to draft a rule that does not “cause undue fear among immigrant communities or present other obstacles to immigrants and their families accessing public services available to them, particularly in light of the COVID-19 pandemic and the resulting long-term public health and economic impacts in the United States.”

Community Health Network of Washington, Community Health Plan of Washington, Washington Association for Community Health and 26 of Washington’s community health centers submitted a comment letter responding to the ANPRM on October 21, 2021.

The ANPRM was just the first step in this process. DHS will review the responses it received and then it will publish a Notice of Proposed Rulemaking. When that happens, there will be a chance to comment on the proposed rule.

Please stay tuned for next steps in this recent public charge rulemaking process. We will share information here as it is made available. For additional questions or information related to public charge please feel free to contact Jessica Hauffe at CHNW, [email protected].

Reviewed on 02/28/2022